A-ba-ni-bi By Izhar Cohen & Alpha Beta MP3 Lyric


I don't wanna be no Catholic boy
I just wanna have some fun
I don't wanna be no Catholic boy
And get beat by the nuns

I don't wanna kneel, I don't wanna feel
Guilty suppression
I wanna beat my meat right in the street
Dominus vobiscum

The kids are passing out in the pew
I'm looking for a hanging Jew
Don't wanna be no fool
Go to no parochial school

I don't wanna be no Catholic boy
I just wanna live in sin
I don't wanna be no Catholic boy
I don't wanna have to say amen
(I just can't seem to get into the habit)


Eurovision Song Contest 1978

The Eurovision Song Contest 1978 was the 23rd edition of the annual Eurovision Song Contest. It was held on 22 April 1978 in Paris. The contest was won by Izhar Cohen & the Alphabeta who represented Israel with the song "A-Ba-Ni-Bi". Although 'A-Ba-Ni-Bi' is the correct title, French television mistakenly captioned on screen the song title as 'Ah-Bah-Nee-Bee'. The presenters were Denise Fabre and Léon Zitrone, and this was the first time more than one presenter hosted an edition of the Contest. In addition, the two presenters served as commentators for France. Twenty countries participated, a record at the time. The winning entry is a love song sung in the Hebrew equivalent of Ubbi dubbi (the title is an expansion of the Hebrew word ani אני, meaning "I"). This was Israel's first Eurovision win. The win caused problems for several North African and Middle-Eastern nations that were televising the contest, even though they were not participating. According to author and political commentator John Kennedy O'Connor in his book The Eurovision Song Contest: The Official History, when Israel became the clear winners during the voting, most of the Arabic stations ended their transmission of the contest. Jordanian TV finished the show with a photo of a bunch of daffodils on screen, later announcing that the Belgian entry (which finished second) was the winner. Norway finished last for the fifth time, gaining the first nul points during the current voting system was implemented in 1975.